History of Aurangabad
The city was founded in 1610 by Malik Ambar, the Prime Minister of Murtaza. Nizam Shah of Ahmadnagar on the site of a village called Khadki. He made it his capital and the men of his army raised their dwellings around it. Within a decade Khadki grew into a populous and imposing city. Malik Ambar died in 1626. He was succeeded by his son Fateh Khan who changed the name of Khadki to Fatehnagar. With the capture of Daulatabad in 1633, the Nizam Shahi dominions, including Fatehnagar, came under the possession of the Moghals. In 1653 when Prince Aurangzeb was appointed the viceroy of the Deccan for the second time, he made Fatehnagar his capital and called it Aurangabad.
Places to See in Aurangabad
Aurangabad caves are just a few kilometers away from the famous monument of Bibi Ka Maqbara. These caves are believed to be excavated between 2nd and 6th century AD. Aurangabad caves are carved out of the hillside and are a fine piece of architecture. A major chunk of the caves in Aurangabad are Viharas. Total number of caves is twelve; out of which cave number 3 and 7 are the most fascinating ones. Cave number 1 to 5 are in the western group and caves from 6 to 10 are in the eastern group. Tantric influences are noticeable in Aurangabad caves.
Bibi Ka Maqbara
Bibi Ka Maqbara is situated 5 km away from Aurangabad. Aurangazeb's son, Prince Azam Shah built it in 1678 in the memory of his mother Begum Rabia Durani. This mausoleum is a replica of the famous Taj Mahal. Despite the layout and surrounding of the tomb is very much similar to Taj Mahal, somehow the architecture fails to produce the magic of the Taj. Hence, it is considered to be a poor imitation of the Taj Mahal.
A workshop in Aurangabad's Zaffar gate is continuing the conventional style of Himroo hand weaving. The workshop also maintains a show room to showcase these products. Here, one can see and shop Himroo shawls and sarees. Bold patterns and colours are the specialities of Mashru fabrics. It is said that Marco Polo has been gifted a fabric woven in silk and gold threads.
There is also a shrine of a saint, Baba Shah Musafir at the site where panchaki is situated. Panchakki (Water Wheel) derives its name from the mill that was used at the early days. The mill is driven with the water brought through earthen pipes from the river 6km away.
Daultabad (Devigiri) Fort
Daulatabad also known as Devagiri, is a town which includes the Devagiri-Daulatabad fort. It carries the distinction of remaining undefeated in battle. It is a 14th-century fort city in Maharashtra state of India, about 16 kilometres (9.9 mi) northwest of Aurangabad. The place was originally named Devagiri when it was an important uplands city along caravan routes (ca. sixth century AD), but the intervening centuries have reduced it to a village. However it is also considered to be one of the seven wonders of Maharashtra and a developing tourist spot.
The historical triangular fort of Daulatabad was built by first Yadav king Bhilan in 1187.
Starting 1327, it famously remained the capital of Tughlaq dynasty, under Muhammad bin Tughluq (r. 1325-1351), who also changed its name, and forcibily moved the entire population of Delhi for two years before it was abandoned for lack of water and Tughluq was constantly known to shift the capital from Delhi to Daulatabad and Daulatabad to Delhi.
There is a belief that Devagiri was built in 1203 AD by a Dhangar or herdsman who acquired vast wealth by his good fortune. He had a brother who was a shepherd named 'Raja Ram' and in correlation with it he assumed the rank of a Raja (King).Source : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daulatabad,_Maharashtra
For more information pl. visit MTDC website